Articles

ipp printers with CUPS 1.5.3

In shared on Jan 17, 2013 by theoryl Tagged: , , , ,

I moved to Linux Mint 13 “Maya” and had trouble setting up a network printer (HP LaserJet) using Internet Printing Protocol (ipp). When I try to print, I’m asked to provide username and password even though they are not required, and so all my printing jobs are held for authentication. I tried to directly edit /etc/cups/printers.conf to use AuthInfoRequired none, but it was changed back to AuthInfoRequired username,password whenever I submit a new job. CUPS version is 1.5.3 (more specifically 1.5.3-0ubuntu6). Numerous users have complained about how the changes in ipp backend in CUPS 1.5 have broken their print settings. The most relevant bug reports that I’ve found are: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/cups/+bug/992982 and http://www.cups.org/str.php?L3985 . The solution that works for me is to replace ipp:// with ipp14://.

Leave a Reply

